Cockpit Overview

1. Division into Subareas

The cockpit is divided into 5 general areas. We are using the designations from the DCS F/A-18C Manual so that it can be read parallel with this course without confusion.

  1. The Instrument Panel (IP) is subdivided into three parts:
    • Left Instrument Panel (IP-L)
    • Centre Instrument Panel (IP-C)
    • Right Instrument Panel (IP-R)
  2. Left Vertical Panel (LVP)
  3. Right Vertical Panel (RVP)
  4. Left Console (LC)
  5. Right Console (RC)
  6. Head-Up Display (HUD)
  7. HOTAS (Hands On Throttle And Stick)

Subareas, Picture by kaltokri, Public Domain